And Away We Go… With Heelys

Double Threat Heelys with two-tone grey uppers and orange highlights and wheels.I love my new Heelys, because they’re not just shoes, they’re transformers.

Heelys sent me a pair of Double Threat Heelys so I could review them for my blog, Rhyme Schemes and Daydreams.

It takes just a few seconds to remove the sole plug using the special tool. Then you pop in the wheels. And go.

In my case… not very far.

I admit, I haven’t spent hours and hours practicing. Usually I pop in the wheels on my lunch hour and have a spin around the picnic table at work. Something I can hold on to. When it came time to tape the review, I dragged my husband to the Port of Pensacola, which has nice paved walkways, benches, and a friendly fence. Something I could hang on to.

My husband said I should have safety gear on, and so did the Heelys company. I do have a Star Wars bike helmet in my collection, but I’m more worried about damaging it than my head. I don’t think I’m really worried about falling. Heck, I fall pretty regularly, so I’m used to that.

What I’m not used to is the rhythm of heeling. It’s very different from skating.

I haven’t skated much – or at all – in the past 20 years, but I feel like that would come back to me. My skates are the ’80s style white boots with four wheels, one on each corner. When I was really little I had the kind that locked onto the bottom of your shoe. Like the song says, it used a key.

I even ice skated once, on my high school senior trip, and I didn’t fall down once. It was just like roller skating.

Heeling is dfferent. Maybe it’s more like skateboarding, which I could never do, either.

You have to hold your feet still, cocked up, front and back of each other. I don’t think you’re supposed to move your feet much at all, but I kept trying to *skate.

I’m not going to give up. I feel like the time I spend trying to learn to “heel” is good exercise, something I could obviously use more of. I just wish I could travel more than a foot and a half (max) at a time.

My thoughts…

I think Heely’s are cool, and a more athletic person, especially someone who’s skateboarded before, will probably have an easier time getting the swing of it.

My husband thinks…

  • I’m crazy.
  • I’m going to break a hip.
  • And that Heelys are pointless.

But not everything has to have a point, does it?

Heelys would make an awesome, fun gift for someone who enjoys trying new things. Receiving these Heelys from the company has certainly been an awesome, fun opportunity for me.

If you’re ready to try a pair yourself, or if you want to put a pair under the tree for someone special, Heelys is offering a Black Friday special – but it’s not just Friday. From November 25th to the 28th, buy any pair of Heelys and get the second pair for $25!

About Taminar

When I grow up, I want to make movies and write books. Now in my mid-40s, I wonder if I'll ever really accomplish the dreams of my youth. I have made two short films, one for a college film-making class, the other for an MTV-sponsored contest. I have written short plays that have been produced, and a few short stories and reviews that have been published. I also perform and direct for community theatre. My working life has included stints in local TV news, public relations, retail management and cashier, and for a couple of years, I made the rides go at Walt Disney World. I have nine cats and a husband.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

