Using Twitter for News

Digital Trends posted some tips on how to use Twitter to get your daily news. Their article left out one good idea:

Use lists to help you find the headlines you’re looking for.

I have lists for local media, national news, entertainment news, and politicians/political news. Once you’ve created your list and associated certain twitter feeds with it, you can easily click on that list to find the latest relevant headlines and discussions.

To create a list, click on the little head that’s at the upper right of the screen (in the black navigation bar). Choose “list” from the drop-down menu. Right below the profile/header, you should see a little grey button to the right side of your screen that says “create list.” Fill out the little form and save it.

The next time you’re looking at your tweets or you decide to follow someone new, you can assign them to a list by clicking on the little head near their name, choose “add to list” and then check the box next to the list(s) that you want to add them to.

In addition to keeping your news sources easy to find, Twitter lists are also a great way to sort personal friends from random people you follow. I have lists for bloggers, celebrities, writers, and more.

Twitter has set a limit on the number of lists you can have, which I can’t remember now, but I think it’s about 20. Yes, I found out by trying to exceed it. I love lists, and once you have yours set up, I’m sure you’ll love them, too.

About Taminar

When I grow up, I want to make movies and write books. Now in my mid-40s, I wonder if I'll ever really accomplish the dreams of my youth. I have made two short films, one for a college film-making class, the other for an MTV-sponsored contest. I have written short plays that have been produced, and a few short stories and reviews that have been published. I also perform and direct for community theatre. My working life has included stints in local TV news, public relations, retail management and cashier, and for a couple of years, I made the rides go at Walt Disney World. I have nine cats and a husband.
This entry was posted in My Life, Social Commentary, Technology and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

