>Since when did silver kill a vampire?

>Growing up, I watched all the old Universal horror movies and I read a lot of books about creatures of the night. You killed vampires by staking them with a wooden stake. You can keep someone from returning as a vampire by cutting his or her head off and stuffing the mouth full of garlic. You can repel a vampire with a cross (although I will accept Fright Night‘s premise that you have to believe).

Werewolves were killed with silver. Shoot it with a silver bullet. Bludgeon it with the silver head of a walking stick (as Lawrence Talbot did, but not before he got bitten). I believe I saw one film where a silver candlestick was involved.

At some point, I think it was in the ’90s, the two myths got intertwined somehow. Now silver is associated with killing vamps. At least in Laurell K. Hamilton’s Anita Blake series, a silver bullet only slows down a vampire; it won’t kill one.

It’s just kind of irritating.

About Taminar

When I grow up, I want to make movies and write books. Now in my 50s, I wonder if I'll ever really accomplish the dreams of my youth. I have made two short films, one for a college film-making class, the other for an MTV-sponsored contest. I have written short plays that have been produced, and a few short stories and reviews that have been published. I also perform and direct for community theatre. My working life has included stints in local TV news, public relations, retail management and cashier, and for a couple of years, I made the rides go at Walt Disney World. I have three cats and a husband.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to >Since when did silver kill a vampire?

  1. Ashtyn says:

    >While LKH is one of the most popular (I use that term loosely) vampire series out there, I wouldn’t call her the authority and I’m not surprised that she would go with the Vampires and silver thing that isn’t all that popular. Her character lines are on the weaker side and it appears she writes the series more as fantasy meets erotica and less about the advancement about the literary species that so many love. I love vampire novels, but have only read one of hers. It was too campy for me and I couldn’t get into them. She might be better than Stephanie Meyers, but that doesn’t say much in my opinion.

  2. Taminar says:

    >I just read another book, La Vida Vampire by Nancy Haddock, and silver is supposedly lethal to her vampires. Cute story even if she does play fast and loose with the “rules.” I’ve noticed lethal silver used in some vampire movies, though I can’t recall which ones. What are some vampire novels or writers that you recommend?

Leave a Reply

