How would you greet alien visitors?

This question came up in another blogger’s discussion of the ABC series, “V.”

The 1983 mini-series V made me question alien intentions.

Believe it or not, I have often asked myself this very question. When the Visitors first arrived, back in 1983, I would have been as excited to see them as anyone in the show. I was 17, and I’m sure I would have joined the Visitor Youth.

Shortly after that, I saw a UFO. I’m not saying it was a spaceship. It was flying, and it was unidentified. I was at my grandparents’ house, which was on the water just outside the city of Gulf Breeze. This was a couple of years before the Ed Walters photographs that put Gulf Breeze on the map of UFO hotspots. It was August, and I was sitting on the pier watching the skies for a meteor shower, when I saw a red light coming across the water towards me. It was pulsing a brighter red, like when a taillight gets brighter when the brakes are applied. I saw no other lights. It was a quiet night, but I couldn’t hear the sound of rotors or an engine. As

Ed Walters’ UFO. Not the one I saw.

whatever it was got closer and closer, I jumped up and ran back onto solid ground. I felt too exposed on the end of the pier over the water. A moment late, the UFO stopped moving. It hovered there for a few minutes, then moved away, over the water and past the trees, out of sight. I had seen helicopters using searchlights over the water before, but I saw no lights at all other than that red glow pulsing a brighter red. I never heard anything.

I ran inside and told my grandparents and my cousin what I’d seen. They’d just been watching the 10pm news, so they “informed me” that it was just a shooting star from the meteor shower the news was just talking about. Of course, I’d seen meteors before, so I knew they glowed white, moved very fast, and didn’t hover at all.

My kind of alien.

In those minutes while I watched the UFO, I wondered if it was a spaceship holding friendly aliens, like E.T., or an evil warrior like Darth Vader, or man-eaters like the Visitors, or a roguish space pirate like Han Solo. Yeah, that last would’ve been all right. 🙂

Based on watching shows like “V” and “Alien Nation” (though the Tenctonese were nice, the slavers weren’t) and movies like “Independence Day,” as well as my own experience with and knowledge of the human race, I wouldn’t immediately trust any offworlder, especially if they offered to cure all our ills or made other miraculous promises. Nearly 28 years after the Visitors first landed, I’d be the one stockpiling ammo in expectation of a battle to save the Earth.

What would you do if aliens suddenly made a very public appearance here on Earth?

About Taminar

When I grow up, I want to make movies and write books. Now in my 50s, I wonder if I'll ever really accomplish the dreams of my youth. I have made two short films, one for a college film-making class, the other for an MTV-sponsored contest. I have written short plays that have been produced, and a few short stories and reviews that have been published. I also perform and direct for community theatre. My working life has included stints in local TV news, public relations, retail management and cashier, and for a couple of years, I made the rides go at Walt Disney World. I have three cats and a husband.
This entry was posted in Entertainment, Social Commentary, Television and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

