Living at the Speed of Light

>The pace of life gets faster every year. Don’t you think so?

My mother, and her mother before her, used to warn about “burning the candle at both ends.” In other words, don’t stay up late and get up early and not get enough sleep in the middle. So what do I do? I stay up until 1:00, 2:00, 3:00 in the morning and get up at 7:15, on weekdays at least. There never seems to be enough hours in the day to accomplish everything.

Are you old enough to remember when we thought computers would make things easier and we’d have so much more freetime? They certainly made communication faster, but are the quick emails, Facebook updates, tweets and text messagesthe kind of quality communiques that our parents and grandparents exchanged? Heck, I still have letters from my teenage years, when I had penpals, that are more substantive than any communication I’ve had in the past ten years.

Do you recall the days, not so long ago, when only doctors and a handful of real estate agents had a mobile phone? Have theymade us more productive? No, they just make driving or crossing the street more dangerous, because at least a third of thepeople behind the wheel at any given time will be holding a phone to their heads or reading a text or typing a message andpaying no attention at all to what’s going on around them.

A prophet named Mother Shipton wrote to following couplets during the first half of the sixteenth century:

Around the world men’s thoughts will fly,
quick as the twinkling of an eye.
And water shall great wonders do,
How strange, and yet it shall come true. 

All those years ago, she saw it coming. Did you?

It used to be forever between Easter and Christmas, and now the days, months, years just whiz by as though the Earth is speeding up in its journey around the sun.



Or is it just me?

About Taminar

When I grow up, I want to make movies and write books. Now in my 50s, I wonder if I'll ever really accomplish the dreams of my youth. I have made two short films, one for a college film-making class, the other for an MTV-sponsored contest. I have written short plays that have been produced, and a few short stories and reviews that have been published. I also perform and direct for community theatre. My working life has included stints in local TV news, public relations, retail management and cashier, and for a couple of years, I made the rides go at Walt Disney World. I have three cats and a husband.
This entry was posted in My Life, Social Commentary. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Living at the Speed of Light

  1. Sunshine says:

    >Yes, I do recall the "good 'ol days", as they were. Moments of sharing an actual conversation between friends & relatives, and not trying to decypher the abbreviated words in a text. LOL But I do know that change is good and welcomed. If were not growing, were dying. If a plant doesn't grow…well, you know. And as far as the time constraint, all that matters is what you do with the time that is given to you. Time is nothing but a feeling. If you want more time, you just need to manage your feelings. You mentioned how time seemed forever between holidays, and now it's a fast stretch of stress, building to the next holiday. But it isn't time that causes the stress, it's just the feelings we create about the subject of time. If you have something in life you want to do, then decide what you want to focus on, and what the outcome will be in advance. Then understand your purpose for it and what actions you NEED to do to make it happen. Don't be worried about the change or rapidness of the world. We ALL share the same amount of time. Life is beautiful!! 🙂 Breathe deeply, enjoy every moment and see the magic in EVERYTHING. There are NO ordinary moments. Don't let life zip by like the speed of light.

Leave a Reply

