Dr. Wham is Bogus

I’ve never had Dr. Wham before today. I thought it was a Wal-mart store brand until I saw it in the Pepsi machine at work. Actually, even after I saw it in the Pepsi machine, I thought maybe Pepsi had bought some at Wal-mart, because they have a few canned Coca-Cola products in the machine, too. Then I noticed that the label said it was bottled by Buffalo Rock Pepsi. Today, I decided to give it a try.

It tastes like watered down Dr. Pepper. Maybe it’s supposed to taste like Dr. Pepper, but since so many sodas nowadays taste watered down, it may be related to that. On a side note, I think that the soda companies or at least the fast food places are deliberately including more water in the mix than the recipe calls for, in order to save money on the syrups and make more profit.

As I sat here, trying to savor my watered down Dr. Wham, I was looking at the label. “Est. 1927” it says.

Really.

Okay, maybe this is a soda that I never heard of before. I hadn’t heard of Moxie until a few years ago. I can’t connect to any wi-fi right now, so I have no idea about the true history of Dr. Wham. It’s entirely possible that Dr. Wham was first marketed and sold in 1927. I don’t know.

Then I noticed that the label says, “original formula.”

Really. Hmmm.

According to the ingredients list on the label, Dr. Wham is sweetened with high fructose corn syrup. I’m fairly certain that high fructose corn syrup hadn’t been invented in 1927, and I’m pretty darn sure that Dr. Wham, if it really was developed in the first half of the 20th century, would have been sweetened with sugar.

Now they’re lying to me. Either it was invented in 1927 and it was sweetened with real sugar and they’re lying about the “original formula” crap, or Dr. Wham was invented a couple of years ago when I first started seeing it in the refrigerated cases in the Wal-mart check-out line and, in fact, high fructose corn syrup is part of the original recipe.

It can’t be both.

I feel gypped and cheated, but I’m fairly certain that Pepsi won’t care and will not send me my $1.25 back. So, I’m forced to drink from this bottle of falsehoods and swill a cheap and dissatisfying knock-off of Dr. Pepper around in my mouth and hope that it will all be over soon.

About Taminar

When I grow up, I want to make movies and write books. Now in my 50s, I wonder if I'll ever really accomplish the dreams of my youth. I have made two short films, one for a college film-making class, the other for an MTV-sponsored contest. I have written short plays that have been produced, and a few short stories and reviews that have been published. I also perform and direct for community theatre. My working life has included stints in local TV news, public relations, retail management and cashier, and for a couple of years, I made the rides go at Walt Disney World. I have three cats and a husband.
This entry was posted in Social Commentary and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Dr. Wham is Bogus

  1. Stew says:

    http://www.buffalorock.com/aboutus/history.html

    Buffalo rock has been around since 1927 and its their original formula they developed in 2005. Its all there on their website.

  2. Taminar says:

    Thanks for visiting my blog, Stew, but I’m going to stand by my observations. The label doesn’t say that Buffalo Rock was established in 1927. The Buffalo Rock name only appears in very small print. The implication is that Dr. Wham was established in 1927, which it was not. I suppose that it is an “original formula” but again, the implication is that this is THE original 1927 formula, which of course, it is not, since the formula wasn’t developed until 2005, as you mention.

    By creating an “antique” or “vintage”-looking label, by placing an old date on it and saying “original formula,” they appear to be trying to capture the interest of people, like me, who want more natural sodas, with sugar instead of high fructose corn syrup.

    I might be willing to overlook all those little ploys if Dr. Wham tasted good, but it doesn’t. It’s nasty. Thanks again for the comment and for the link.

  3. Stew says:

    Taminar – I stumbled upon this site while googling the same concerns you expressed here. I was merely playing devils advocate. I do agree with you on the misleading nature of the label. 🙂

  4. Taminar says:

    I’m glad you stopped by. I enjoy a friendly debate. 🙂

  5. Autumn says:

    I agree with you about the lie.. but I just tasted it for the first time tonight and I kinda like it. Less of an acidic kick than Dr. Pepper.

  6. Taminar says:

    Thanks for stopping by, Autumn. That’s exactly why beverage companies give us such a vast assortment of sodas to choose from, because we all have different tastes.

  7. Banks says:

    i did stumble across this at my wal-mart i’ve never noticed it until they hit wal-mart in January at first i thought it was another brand soda but when i saw it was from pepsi i was pretty shocked, i thought they stole it from Dr Pepper at first but then i read the link stew posted and now i’d rather drink Dr. Wham then Dr pepper but thats only if i goto Wal-mart

  8. Taminar says:

    Dr. Wham is a knock-off of Dr. Pepper. So are Mr. Pibb and Dr. Thunder. Dr. Pepper is very popular (and is distributed by Pepsi in some parts of the country, Coca-Cola in other regions), so of course, all the other soda companies are going to do their version of it.

  9. Dboi says:

    i got my first dr wham from little cesars, when i asked for dr pepper this is what they gave me and charged me the same price as pepsi. It tastes like dr pepper but it made me belch alot, agree i dont think it has been around since 1927!

  10. Taminar says:

    Turns out the bottling company has been around since 1927, but Dr. Wham is a much more recent invention. Little Caesar’s really should have told you that they had something else. A lot of times places around here won’t have Dr. Pepper but they’ll have Mr. Pibb. I don’t mind that, but I like them to tell me instead of just bringing out whatever they have.

  11. Randalph says:

    I hope you realize the chemical difference between high fructose corn syrup and “natural” sugars found in apples aka fructose is none. “real” sugar doesn’t exist outside of the pathetic excuse sugar cane is any more “real” hell high fructose CORN syrup, it came from corn just like “real” sugar comes from sugar cane. They process sugar cane just as much, not to mention before hfcs we also got sugar from other sources like beats.

Leave a Reply

