Kate is NOT a Princess!

Royal WeddingI’m getting a little irritated at seeing “Princess Kate” pop up in television and print news stories, not to mention online. She is not a princess. She is the Duchess of Cambridge. She may also be referred to as Her Royal Highness.

If and when Wills succeeds his father as Prince of Wales, then Kate would become Princess of Wales, and I will accept, even though it’s not correct, Princess Kate. She’d have the title to support its use.

I am also sick to death of reading “Prince William and Kate Middleton” are doing such-and-such. No. She is married now, and her married name is properly Kate Mountbatten-Windsor.

Disney tradition notwithstanding, this is the way it is.

About Taminar

When I grow up, I want to make movies and write books. Now in my 50s, I wonder if I'll ever really accomplish the dreams of my youth. I have made two short films, one for a college film-making class, the other for an MTV-sponsored contest. I have written short plays that have been produced, and a few short stories and reviews that have been published. I also perform and direct for community theatre. My working life has included stints in local TV news, public relations, retail management and cashier, and for a couple of years, I made the rides go at Walt Disney World. I have three cats and a husband.
This entry was posted in Celebrities, Social Commentary and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Kate is NOT a Princess!

  1. mauricem1972 says:

    People just want to identify her with her mother “Princess Diana.” Thanks for clearing this up. I was confused myself.

    • taminar says:

      Poor Kate will endure endless comparisons to her mother-in-law, for the rest of her life. Or at least until those of us who remember that other royal wedding have passed on. The other thing is that if you marry a prince, you’re supposed to be a princess, because that’s the way it works in fairy tales, and that’s the extent of most Americans’ knowledge of royals and nobility.

      Thanks for visiting my blog and leaving a comment.

Leave a Reply

