The Stench of Death

A few weeks ago, my neighbor asked about something in our backyard, and my husband took her back and gave her the tour. I got home from wherever in the middle of it and walked back there with them. As we all walked back together, our neighbor paused at the side of the house and said, “Something definitely died around here. Smell it. There’s something dead.”

I said, “No, it’s the trash can.”

“Uh-uh,” she insisted. “There’s a dead rat or something around here.”

“I promise you,” I insisted. “It’s our trash can.”

See, we change three big litter boxes 3-4 times a week. The bag of used litter is heavy, and sometimes I drop it into the can a little harder than I would like, and it breaks. Add to that the kitchen garbage and the heat of a Florida summer, and you get the stench of death.

[Sidebar] I know whereof I speak. When we lived in a cheap St. Louis apartment our first year of marriage, we came home one summer day and said, “Whoa, time to take out the trash,” and when we came back upstairs, it still stunk, so we opened the windows, and it still wasn’t clearing very quickly. Then we saw the blue flashing lights through the blinds, and when we looked outside, the place was surrounded by cops and news teams. The guy in the first floor apartment below us (we were on the third floor) had been stabbed to death several days earlier. [End of Sidebar]

Natural House LogoRecently, I was offered the chance to review some new probiotic products from a company called Natural House. One of the products is called Trashy, and it’s designed to take care of trash can odor. How could I resist that opportunity?!

The box of products arrived a couple of days ago, and today was trash day, so this evening, I doused the bottom of the can with Trashy, let it sit for a couple of hours, then took out the bag of dirty litter. Before I put in the litter, though, I leaned down close to the can (I refused to put my head inside it), and I sniffed. I smelled the Fresh Wintergreen scent of the spray and possibly a little bit of garbage odor underneath. I think it’s working!

Trashy - a garbage can cleaner from Natural HouseI very carefully lowered the bag of litter into the can, making sure it didn’t spill. For the next couple of weeks, I’ll continue to spray Trashy into the can on trash days, and post updates. I am very hopeful that we’ve found the solution to the dead body smell in our garbage can.

Over the next couple of weeks, I’ll also be trying two other products from Natural House. Sinky is to clean out sink drains and disposals. We don’t have a disposal, but I’m looking forward to trying it on our kitchen sink. Flushy cleans toilets and sewage drains, and I’m hoping it will help with some of the odd problems we’ve had in that area.

Be watching for the full reviews!

About Taminar

When I grow up, I want to make movies and write books. Now in my 50s, I wonder if I'll ever really accomplish the dreams of my youth. I have made two short films, one for a college film-making class, the other for an MTV-sponsored contest. I have written short plays that have been produced, and a few short stories and reviews that have been published. I also perform and direct for community theatre. My working life has included stints in local TV news, public relations, retail management and cashier, and for a couple of years, I made the rides go at Walt Disney World. I have three cats and a husband.
This entry was posted in Reviews. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

