Roll On

You know those shoes that are not just shoes but roller skates?Heelys

I have a pair!

I received my Heelys about a week ago, after registering to be a reviewer for the company. They let me pick from a variety of colors and styles, and I picked the Double Threat style that has removable wheels, so I can wear them as shoes or as skates. Cool, huh?

Last week, I tried rolling on them for a few minutes in my Star Wars room, because it has a vinyl floor and lots of fixtures for me to grab and keep from falling. I started getting my balance, but it was evening and I had lots to do and couldn’t stay out there long.

On Sunday, I wore them all day (noon to 7pm) while we were out running errands. I wore them as shoes, although I took my wheels and the little changing tool with me. Our first stop was Lowe’s and once we got inside, I realized I shouldn’t have left the wheels in the car because they have plain concrete floors. Surely they wouldn’t mind a little skating inside?

One of the first things I noticed, and maybe it’s just an impression, but I felt like my foot was angled up inside the shoe, like maybe they know that a lot of the time that your heel is going to be raised on the wheel, and they want to help you compensate. It just felt a little weird.

I ended up being too nervous about getting in trouble in a store to ever pop the wheels in, but the shoes definitely needed breaking in a little. They are very stiff (my husband says maybe they need to be stiff because of the skating; I don’t know), and my little toes were rubbing uncomfortably on the sides. Also, and if you read my blog regularly you know this, I have Morton’s Neuroma in my toes, and even though I had alcohol injections a few years ago, they still bother me sometimes. The combination of new shoes, narrower shoes than I’m used to, the neuroma… well, by the time we got to my mom’s house to feed her cats, I traded out for her Crocs to walk around.

My feet don’t feel too bad today. My toes are a little tingly, and I feel a bit of soreness, but I haven’t had any cramping, which is good, and I don’t think I have any blisters.

Again, I don’t blame the Heelys in particular for my foot problems. I’d have this with any stiff new shoe.

In a couple of days, I will try taking the Heelys to work and rolling around the picnic table on my lunch hour to work on my balance and skating skills. It really is different than putting on roller skates, at least regular, old-fashioned four-wheel skates; I’ve never used in-line or Roller Blades.

I do want to reiterate that I’m reviewing Heelys for the company and received a pair of shoes for free so that I could try them out and write about it.

About Taminar

When I grow up, I want to make movies and write books. Now in my 50s, I wonder if I'll ever really accomplish the dreams of my youth. I have made two short films, one for a college film-making class, the other for an MTV-sponsored contest. I have written short plays that have been produced, and a few short stories and reviews that have been published. I also perform and direct for community theatre. My working life has included stints in local TV news, public relations, retail management and cashier, and for a couple of years, I made the rides go at Walt Disney World. I have three cats and a husband.
This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Roll On

  1. Priscilla Benavides says:

    I remember first seeing these on a boy at the grocery store, at that time I didn’t even know they existed so you can guess what my reaction was when I saw him walking and then suddently sliding down the isle… it really freaked me out! I took a rational guess and figured they most probably where some type of new shoes that were now being sold, boy did I feel stone age not knowing about them before.

Leave a Reply

