Occupy for Equality (1789 to 2011)

I was thinking of the musical Les Misérables, and some of the lyrics struck me as being particularly relevant today. Of course, I’m not the first person to make the parallel between the Occupy movement and the French Revolution. I just hadn’t thought about it in relation to the brilliant musical theatre production. The French occupied the Bastille in July 1789. Today, Americans are occupying everywhere.

Occupy Wall Street - Crowd At Notre Dame the sections are prepared!
At rue de Bac they’re straining at the leash!
Occupiers try to cross a bridge through a police line. Students, workers, everyone, there’s a river on the run, like the flowing of the tide,
Paris coming to our side!
One man holds his fist high in a group of Occupiers in Chicago. The time is near
So near it’s stirring the blood in their veins!
And yet beware. Don’t let the wine go to your brains!
Republican Candidates for President, 2011 For the army we fight is a dangerous foe, with the men and the arms that we never can match. It is easy to sit here and swat ’em like flies, but the national guard will be harder to catch.
Sign lists the types of people among the 99% We need a sign
To rally the people
To call them to arms
To bring them in line!
A class warfare sign behind musicians at an Occupy event. It is time for us all
To decide who we are
Do we fight for the right
To a night at the opera now?
Police arrest an Occupier Have you asked of yourselves, what’s the price you might pay? Is it simply a game for rich young boys to play? The color of the world is changing day by day…
Children by a red sign that says "People Not Profits" Red – the blood of angry men! Black – the dark of ages past! Red – a world about to dawn! Black – the night that ends at last!
About Taminar

When I grow up, I want to make movies and write books. Now in my 50s, I wonder if I'll ever really accomplish the dreams of my youth. I have made two short films, one for a college film-making class, the other for an MTV-sponsored contest. I have written short plays that have been produced, and a few short stories and reviews that have been published. I also perform and direct for community theatre. My working life has included stints in local TV news, public relations, retail management and cashier, and for a couple of years, I made the rides go at Walt Disney World. I have three cats and a husband.
This entry was posted in Economy, Social Commentary and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Occupy for Equality (1789 to 2011)

  1. Pingback: Film Review – Les Misérables – a vivid portrayal of revolution | Rhyme Schemes and Daydreams

Leave a Reply

