Warning: Dollar Tree Kitchen Tool Melts!

Earlier this month, we bought a new turner, we usually call it a spatula. Our old one was getting worn around the edges. We were both pretty sure we bought the old one at Dollar Tree, and it’s lasted quite a while, so we went back to Dollar Tree for a new one.

Boy, was that a mistake!

Dollar Store TurnerLook what happened! My husband started to flip some bacon this morning, and he said it immediately started smoking.

He said he lifted the spatula and he could see it bubbling and dripping!

This is a hazardous product to use in the kitchen!

Later, I’m going through the trash and see if I can find the receipt and/or the tag that we cut off the turner when we brought it home.

For now, I have notified Dollar Tree through the contact form on their website. I uploaded all my photos to Flickr and included the link on the contact form.

Dollar Tree Kitchen TurnerI also tweeted about the pics, and my posts here all get tweeted as well. I’m going on Facebook to tell my friends, and I will contact the Consumer Product Safety Commission as well.

Maybe it’s a fluke, but this product needs to be carefully reviewed and a recall considered. The tool only cost us a dollar, but we don’t feel safe eating the bacon that it melted on, and that stuff’s not cheap. What if it’s been leaching toxins into our food every time we’ve used it? What if we’d been flipping something really expensive like steak?

I hate that most products at Dollar Tree are made in China, and I don’t expect much out of them, but I do expect to be safe when using them. We have seen many cases of Chinese products recalled because they were made without the usual safety considerations. I think this turner self-destructing is another example of that.

No more Dollar Tree for me!

About Taminar

When I grow up, I want to make movies and write books. Now in my 50s, I wonder if I'll ever really accomplish the dreams of my youth. I have made two short films, one for a college film-making class, the other for an MTV-sponsored contest. I have written short plays that have been produced, and a few short stories and reviews that have been published. I also perform and direct for community theatre. My working life has included stints in local TV news, public relations, retail management and cashier, and for a couple of years, I made the rides go at Walt Disney World. I have three cats and a husband.
This entry was posted in Economy, Social Commentary and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

