Saturday Night Live Hits & Misses

I don’t watch “Saturday Night Live” all the time, but my friend told me Jeremy Renner was the guest host on 11/18/12 and that he had what was supposed to be a funny take on “The Avengers.”

Hmmm. No. Not so much.

The first fake commercial was pretty clever, with a theme of “Visit Your Hometown for the Holidays.” They used resort-ad-style phrasing and video over pictures of a boring family weekend. That was pretty good.

The skit with Renner and two of the regulars as bad guys all holding guns on each other and moving as a trio following Renner to his kid’s dance class and home for Thanksgiving was kind of funny in parts, but it went on too long.

A soap opera riff called “The Californians” (I think that’s what it was called) was just lame and some guy kept laughing. I guess he would be the new Adam Sandler. It may have worked for Harvey Korman and Tim Conway on “The Carol Burnett Show” but you ain’t they.

My favorite bits were a riff on CNN’s “The Situation Room” because they used the same video clip over and over and pointed out that they were using it over and over, which is exactly what happens in real news. Hilarious. Loved it when they rolled it backwards for a while. I’ll have to try that one.

In “Weekend Update” they did this long bit on the winners and losers of the Petraeus Scandal, with Florida being one of the losers because every scandal and scam always ends up with some connection to Florida. That was funny. I live in Florida. Yeah, it’s all true.

The animated segment “Cool Drones” was kind of funny in the beginning. Then it went on too long. They they killed a goat. Come on. I’m sure they use facial recognition software or something like that and would not blow up a goat. If military drones would blow up a goat, then maybe they should be reprogrammed. Goats are not terrorists. They are innocent victims.

About Taminar

When I grow up, I want to make movies and write books. Now in my 50s, I wonder if I'll ever really accomplish the dreams of my youth. I have made two short films, one for a college film-making class, the other for an MTV-sponsored contest. I have written short plays that have been produced, and a few short stories and reviews that have been published. I also perform and direct for community theatre. My working life has included stints in local TV news, public relations, retail management and cashier, and for a couple of years, I made the rides go at Walt Disney World. I have three cats and a husband.
This entry was posted in Entertainment, Television, Television and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

