The nuclear threat and TV movie-as-warning

The Day After TV movie advertisement

The Day After TV movie advertisement

Back in 1983, just about everybody watched the made-for-TV movie “The Day After.” The 33-year-old film became a hot topic again, at least for a few hours, when its airing was re-lived in the 2016 TV series “The Americans.”

Coincidentally, I was going through some folders in my filing cabinet and came across a 9-page essay about “The Day After.” No author’s name is listed. I think it was probably written by my Canadian pen-pal, Chris Scott, because it was next to some other items she had mailed to me.

This essay would have been written in the mid- to late

Cover of Newsweek magazine with the headline "TV's nuclear nightmare."

Newsweek magazine cover from the time.

1980s, fairly soon after the movie aired. Today, we are in a different world. I thought some of you who have a new or renewed interest in “The Day After” would enjoy a perspective untempered by time and a changing world order.

I have uploaded it as a PDF file. You can download it by clicking the following text link:

Essay on “The Day After”

About Taminar

When I grow up, I want to make movies and write books. Now in my 50s, I wonder if I'll ever really accomplish the dreams of my youth. I have made two short films, one for a college film-making class, the other for an MTV-sponsored contest. I have written short plays that have been produced, and a few short stories and reviews that have been published. I also perform and direct for community theatre. My working life has included stints in local TV news, public relations, retail management and cashier, and for a couple of years, I made the rides go at Walt Disney World. I have three cats and a husband.
This entry was posted in Entertainment, Social Commentary, Television and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

