FedEx Incompetence

Last week, I ordered cat food from Chewy.com, an excellent site that offers fair pricing on good products, quick order processing, and the owners even sent a personally signed Christmas card. Way to go, guys!

I expected the order to arrive on Monday, December 5, and I was surprised when I clicked the tracking button over to the FedEx site and saw an estimated Friday delivery.

The package didn’t arrive. I checked the tracking number Friday night, and it said to expect delivery on Tuesday. I didn’t understand why they skipped Monday, but okay.

On Monday afternoon, the tracking information showed that they attempted delivery on Saturday. “Why?” I wondered. It’s my husband’s work address, business name included on the label, and their office is never open on Saturday. It also said delivery would not be attempted on Monday because of bad weather. Yes, it was raining buckets and parts of the area were under tornado advisories. I accepted that.

Tuesday, the weather was clear. It was a day previously promised for delivery. And yet, no package.

I tweeted FedEx on Tuesday, and their agents responded that it was another weather delay. What? The weather was fine, the roads had drained, and Fort Walton Beach (between Pensacola and the FedEx warehouse in DeFuniak Springs) even held their Christmas parade Tuesday evening because the weather was so fine.

Certainly the package would arrive on Wednesday, right? Weather is still clear. The driver has already had one make-up day for the storm day.

Wrong. Mid-afternoon, the package still hadn’t arrived. I called FedEx and asked when my package would be delivered? They couldn’t say. “It’s on the truck,” they said. Well, yes, I can see that by looking at my computer screen.

By 5:00 pm, when the office was closing, the truck still had not arrived, and my husband called. “It’s on the truck. It will be delivered by 8:00 p.m.” Imagine this in a thick foreign accent. Could he wait on the sidewalk and accept the package if the truck appeared? No. Which is a good policy to prevent fraud, but not at all helpful in this case.

I mean, the driver (or “a” driver) tried to deliver this package on Saturday. He (or she) knows it’s a business. The business name is part of the mailing address on the label. Why would you attempt delivery after business hours?

We got home, and lo, and behold, delivery was attempted at 6:06 p.m. I called again. The (again foreign) agent tells me that ground deliveries are not time sensitive. Then what is the point? They can carry this package around on their truck for six weeks and if they arrive after 5:00 p.m. or on a weekend, the office is going to be closed. It’s a waste of everyone’s time and resources. Work smart, people!

I demanded to speak to someone who could actually take some action, and I was transfered to “Escalations” — an American-sounding person who assured me that the driver should have noted the business name on the package and prioritized delivery during business hours, and she promises we’ll get our package on Thursday.

In the meantime, I tweeted again and tagged Chewy.com — they are also taking action from their end and providing some compensation, which shouldn’t even be their responsibility. Did I mention how awesome they are? If you need pet products, definitely check their website.

And if you have an issue with FedEx, don’t wait around like I did, ask immediately for “Escalations” and maybe you’ll get somewhere.

About Taminar

When I grow up, I want to make movies and write books. Now in my 50s, I wonder if I'll ever really accomplish the dreams of my youth. I have made two short films, one for a college film-making class, the other for an MTV-sponsored contest. I have written short plays that have been produced, and a few short stories and reviews that have been published. I also perform and direct for community theatre. My working life has included stints in local TV news, public relations, retail management and cashier, and for a couple of years, I made the rides go at Walt Disney World. I have three cats and a husband.
This entry was posted in Business, My Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

