Troublesome German on Passenger List

I’m researching my husband’s grandmother, who emigrated from Germany around 1908. I think I’ve found her on a passenger list for a ship called the Pretoria. I could, of course, read the typed words easily enough to type them into the Google translator. The place of last residence looks like München, which is where our Helen Schiesl was from.

Then I come to the “occupation” column. The word looks like Prisat. Or Prinat. Or Prisal. I tried typing all those words into the Google translator, and it didn’t recognize any of them as words. She was a domestic servant in her first U.S. Census (1910), so I tried translating that to German, and Google gave me a completely different word.

Samples of word that I cannot quite make out on the document.

What is this German word?

I found one other passenger who looks like he had the same occupation. Another line looks like the same word, but starting with Kinder — child.

The full page is below. I know sometimes it helps to look at other words to see how various letters are formed.  I highlighted Helen’s line in yellow.

List of passengers who arrived in the U.S. aboard the Pretoria circa 1907-1908.

List of passengers who arrived in the U.S. aboard the Pretoria circa 1907-1908.

If you speak and read German (Deutsch) and can make out what this is, I would appreciate your help. Please comment below.

 

Here’s another passenger list which I was lead to believe was from the same voyage of the Pretoria, but as most of the names are different — and the only two passengers that match the other list have different ages, I’m back to the research on this one.

Passenger list from the Pretoria.

Passenger list from the Pretoria.

About Taminar

When I grow up, I want to make movies and write books. Now in my 50s, I wonder if I'll ever really accomplish the dreams of my youth. I have made two short films, one for a college film-making class, the other for an MTV-sponsored contest. I have written short plays that have been produced, and a few short stories and reviews that have been published. I also perform and direct for community theatre. My working life has included stints in local TV news, public relations, retail management and cashier, and for a couple of years, I made the rides go at Walt Disney World. I have three cats and a husband.
This entry was posted in Genealogy, My Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

