#52Ancestors in 52 Weeks: Language

I often find myself thinking about the things I used to hear and say growing up that I don’t use now. My husband is from the Midwest and I work with mostly younger people from all over the country. It’s changed the way I talk. My language is also influenced by movies/TV/streaming.

One story I remember is how my mom said one of her Navy wife friends teased her when she asked if the friend could “carry me to the store.” The response was something like, “No, but I’ll drive you there.” When I was younger and living at home, I might have used ‘carry’ in that way. Now, I’m more inclined to ask if someone could give me a ride.

Knee high to a duck. Image created using Microsoft’s Copilot

In my youth, a conversation might begin, “I haven’t seen you in a coon’s age. You were just knee high to a duck.” Or perhaps you’d be knee high to a grasshopper.

Every once in a while, one of these old words or phrases will come to mind, and I’ll use it and get an odd look from my husband. I’ll explain it, and sometimes we’ll laugh about it.

I wish I had more recordings or had written down more of the way we talked back then* in the South.

It makes me wonder about words and phrases our ancestors may have used that are now lost forever.

*In the 1970s.

**Notes on the Images: I decided to try out Microsoft’s Copilot Designer, which lets you enter a text description and the software will generate a picture. I entered, “A farm-like setting with a small child standing next to a giant duck. The child’s head should be about even with the duck’s knee.” It took quite a while before delivering four images. In these two, I used the “customize” tool to resize the child, as Copilot made them chest high to the giant ducks.

Knee high to a duck. Image created using Microsoft’s Copilot

About Taminar

When I grow up, I want to make movies and write books. Now in my 50s, I wonder if I'll ever really accomplish the dreams of my youth. I have made two short films, one for a college film-making class, the other for an MTV-sponsored contest. I have written short plays that have been produced, and a few short stories and reviews that have been published. I also perform and direct for community theatre. My working life has included stints in local TV news, public relations, retail management and cashier, and for a couple of years, I made the rides go at Walt Disney World. I have two cats and a husband.
This entry was posted in Genealogy, My Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to #52Ancestors in 52 Weeks: Language

  1. Eilene Lyon says:

    The New York Times had a quiz not long ago to determine what part of the country your dialect came from. I grew up in Virginia and Pennsylvania and Ohio, but my dialect is most like Colorado (where I’ve lived since age 24), and the Pacific Northwest, where my parent are from. I found that quite interesting.
    I liked your AI images. I need to start trying some of that, because I often can’t find what I want for my PowerPoint slides (royalty free).

Leave a comment