#52Ancestors in 52 Weeks: Outcast

Don’t throw the baby out with the bathwater.

That’s what my Mam-ma, Willie Stevens Cook, used to say. She had sayings for everything. A stitch in time saves nine. Knee high to a grasshopper. You’ve got to take the bitter with the sweet. Every cloud has a silver lining.

When I was in college, and working part-time at a bookstore, I might add, Mam-ma wrote down all the phrases and maxims and “old sayings” she could think of, in pencil on little pieces of paper from a notepad. She gave them to me and said I should type them up and publish them in a book.

Willie Stevens' high school graduation photo.
Willie Stevens’ high school graduation photo. You can see in her eyes, she’s hoping her granddaughter will have the sense to listen to her suggestions.

Mam-ma was a lot smarter than me.

“No publisher is going to pay for a list of old sayings,” I thought. Maybe if I researched them, and wrote the history of the saying and the meaning behind it, someone would be interested. Maybe. Who would buy just a list of old sayings.

It didn’t take very long for me to be proven wrong. Within a year or two of Mam-ma handing me those notes, several books came out that were just lists of old sayings. Exactly what I thought couldn’t get published and wouldn’t sell if they did.

I kicked myself every time I sold one of those stupid books.

About Taminar

When I grow up, I want to make movies and write books. Now in my 50s, I wonder if I'll ever really accomplish the dreams of my youth. I have made two short films, one for a college film-making class, the other for an MTV-sponsored contest. I have written short plays that have been produced, and a few short stories and reviews that have been published. I also perform and direct for community theatre. My working life has included stints in local TV news, public relations, retail management and cashier, and for a couple of years, I made the rides go at Walt Disney World. I have two cats and a husband.
This entry was posted in Genealogy, My Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment