#52Ancestors in 52 Weeks: Bald

This prompt (from Amy Johnson Crow’s 52 Ancestors in 52 Weeks project) instantly reminded me of my dad, Bill Hahn, and his dad, Charlie Hahn.

Most of my life growing up, my dad wore a crew cut. I recall it looking pretty sparse.

Bill and Zenova in Arcos Spain

This first photo is from Arcos, Spain, while my dad was stationed in Rota, so sometime between 1962 and 1965. Daddy was in his late 20s to early 30s. This photo is small, but the front line of his crew cut looks well back from his forehead to me.

When I was really little, I liked to rub his head after he’d get a hair cut. I think I liked it for the same reason I liked to pet the velvet collar on my my mom’s coat – it was fuzzy.

After my dad retired in 1982, he let his hair – what was left of it, grow out a little. He has it combed back in my wedding photos from 1992. (The uniform is a little snug, but I insisted!)

Note: My mom and I designed my dress, and she made it!

My pre-wedding bride photo with my mom and dad, 1992.

Daddy came by his hair loss genetically, I think. I came across a photo of his dad and uncle showing their shiny heads.

I don’t remember exactly what Charlie – Papa to us grandkids – said about his baldness, but it had something to do with it was because he was so smart. (Fish was also brain food, he would say.)

As I am getting older (and following a couple of health issues), I find my hair is thinner than it used to be. I hope I don’t end up looking like the Hahn boys!

Brothers Charles Theodore and Daniel Yancey Hahn. (If anyone knows who the child is, please let me know.)

About Taminar

When I grow up, I want to make movies and write books. Now in my 50s, I wonder if I'll ever really accomplish the dreams of my youth. I have made two short films, one for a college film-making class, the other for an MTV-sponsored contest. I have written short plays that have been produced, and a few short stories and reviews that have been published. I also perform and direct for community theatre. My working life has included stints in local TV news, public relations, retail management and cashier, and for a couple of years, I made the rides go at Walt Disney World. I have two cats and a husband.
This entry was posted in Genealogy, My Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to #52Ancestors in 52 Weeks: Bald

  1. Patricia L Lowe says:

    Beautiful wedding photo.

Leave a comment