#52Ancestors in 52 Weeks: Family Lore

For a New Year’s post, the topic of “Family Lore” brings to mind the tradition of eating black-eyed peas on the first day of the year. My pap-pa (maternal grandfather Hoyt Cook) always said that for every black-eyed pea you ate on New Year’s Day, you’d earn a dollar in the coming year. For a little kid growing up in the 1970s, a few bowls of peas would equal a small fortune.

December 31, 2022, I cooked a package of dry beans with a ham bone. This year, I’m opening a couple of cans, instead.

I wish I knew more about how far back the tradition goes in our family. I’ve just been browsing through Google search results about eating black-eyed peas on New Year’s Day, and it appears the idea dates back many centuries. Some articles say it’s a Jewish tradition. Other reports say it stems from the beliefs of Africans brought to the U.S. in bondage. Today, I look at the small amounts of African DNA in my profile and wonder if my black ancestors introduced the tradition into my bloodline.

Some families throw a dime into the pot; we never did that. Some serve with collard greens; my family tended towards turnip greens, and I tended to pass by that pot on the table. Hoppin’ John – black-eyed peas with rice – is said to be based on African recipes. Southern Living magazine (via the Atlanta Journal Constitution) says serving peas with cornbread or tomatoes is also supposed to bring good fortune.

Photo taken before I was born during a family gathering at the home of Hoyt Cook’s mother, Dollie Allison Cook, Walnut Hill, Escambia County, Florida.

The dawn of a new year is certainly a time for positivity, for hope, for planning ahead. It’s fun to think that eating special foods can bring luck and prosperity. During my childhood, New Year’s wasn’t always a day for family gatherings; we were often away from home with my dad’s military service. When we were in Pensacola, it was such fun to go to a grandparents’ home, play with the cousins, and eat lots of good food. Boy, I could pack it away back then and not have to worry about gaining weight!

Today, carrying on that tradition of eating black-eyed peas provides a connection with my past and my family, and it’s still exciting to think that each bite could be contributing to financial success. Hmmm. How many peas would I need to eat to win the lottery?!

I dropped the ball on the #52Ancestors project in 2023, but I’ll begin anew with a resolution to do better in 2024. Part of the issue in 2023 is that I feel I’ve written bunches about the relatives I know and the brick walls I’m working on. I will try to be more creative this year as I discuss more unknown ancestors on the tree.

About Taminar

When I grow up, I want to make movies and write books. Now in my 50s, I wonder if I'll ever really accomplish the dreams of my youth. I have made two short films, one for a college film-making class, the other for an MTV-sponsored contest. I have written short plays that have been produced, and a few short stories and reviews that have been published. I also perform and direct for community theatre. My working life has included stints in local TV news, public relations, retail management and cashier, and for a couple of years, I made the rides go at Walt Disney World. I have two cats and a husband.
This entry was posted in Genealogy, My Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment