#52Ancestors in 52 Weeks: Earning a Living

Genealogical research means learning new things about ancestors and family members that you thought you knew pretty well.

My dad’s dad, Papa Hahn, aka Charles Theodore Hahn, worked at St. Regis Paper Mill in Cantonment, Escambia County, Florida. In my mind, that was his lifelong career. I don’t know that I ever asked what other jobs he had in his life. Looking at U.S. Census Records filled me in.

Malzie Elizabeth Silcox Hahn (Grandma) and Charles Theodore Hahn (Papa)

In 1930, when he was 16 years old, Charlie’s entry gives “none” in the occupation line. That was unexpected. A later census indicates that he only finished sixth grade, and I thought that if he quit school he would have been working. I was also surprised by the entry for his dad, Theodore, whose entry says he’s a gardener in the landscape industry; I thought he was a farmer. I don’t think Charlie was sitting around listing to the radio or hanging out at the beach all day in 1930; I imagine that if his dad worked outside the home, Charlie was doing a lot of man’s work around the house. He may also have been between jobs or otherwise looking for work.

The 1935 Florida Census lists the occupation for Charlie and his dad as “Dairyman.” I remember being told that my dad worked for a dairy farmer, helping milk cows, while he was in high school. I wonder if he worked for the same dairy that once employed his dad.

In 1940, the federal census gives Charlie’s occupation as laborer in the road construction industry. I wonder what roads he helped to build?

The Florida Census in 1945 lists Charlie’s occupation as “Tr Driver” which I interpret as being truck driver. One of my uncles was driving a truck just a few years ago, when he had some trouble on the road and was diagnosed with a brain tumor. I wonder what kind of truck he drove and what company employed him.

Finally on the 1950 Census, when he is 36 years old, Charlie is identified as a Machine Savall Operator at St. Regis. I’m not actually sure what that middle word is. Can you make it out? (see update below)

Charlie and Malzie got married in December 1933, when Charlie was 20 years old, and my dad came along the following December. What I do know is, Papa Hahn always worked hard to provide a good life for his family.

All these state and federal census records are available to search for free on the FamilySearch website.

I dropped the ball on #52Ancestors last week. The topic was Influencer, and I couldn’t think of anything that I hadn’t already written about. I had told myself that if I couldn’t write about the topic, I’d just write something, anything, about an ancestor, but I didn’t. I’ll try to do better going forward.


UPDATE: Mrs. N. on BlueSky and Eilene Lyon here on WordPress both solved my mystery. They sent me information on Save-all machines, which are designed to remove fiber and other solids from white water so the clarified water and solids can be re-used. I don’t know why Google didn’t show me anything useful when I searched for “savall paper mill” but these two ladies kindly dug deeper and shared their findings, so I could better understand my Papa’s job. Thank you, both!!

About Taminar

When I grow up, I want to make movies and write books. Now in my 50s, I wonder if I'll ever really accomplish the dreams of my youth. I have made two short films, one for a college film-making class, the other for an MTV-sponsored contest. I have written short plays that have been produced, and a few short stories and reviews that have been published. I also perform and direct for community theatre. My working life has included stints in local TV news, public relations, retail management and cashier, and for a couple of years, I made the rides go at Walt Disney World. I have two cats and a husband.
This entry was posted in Genealogy, My Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to #52Ancestors in 52 Weeks: Earning a Living

  1. Eilene Lyon says:

    I think this will answer your question https://ippta.co/wp-content/uploads/2021/01/2011_Issue_4_IPPTA_Articel_10.pdf
    Whatever you manage to get written is worth a pat on the back, at least. No one gets demerits for missing a week.😊

Leave a comment