Choosing a Blu-ray Player

I have to have a Blu-ray player so I can get the newest release of Star Wars. We’ve been putting off investing in Blu-ray (well, in the beginning it was because of the format war). Now, though, prices are coming down a bit and Star Wars is available, so I’ve been doing some comparison shopping and asking around for a few months.

This week, our regular old Hitachi DVD player went out. I won it as a door prize at the 2004 Christmas party at my work. Lately, when we unplug it (bad weather expected, that sort of thing), after we plug it back in sometimes it hasn’t worked right away, and this time, it just never came back.

Sunday night, I would swear that Sony had its BDP-S580 on sale for $89.99. Maybe I looked at it wrong or maybe the price went up on Monday, but now it’s like $139. I went back to the drawing board, so to speak. I looked up the other two models that I’ve been looking at (a Panasonic and an LG), and I still like the Sony best. For one thing, they invented Blu-ray, so you’d think they’d know how to do it. I’ve found it for about the same price as the LG (they’re both cheaper than the Panasonic). So, I’m ready to take the plunge.

I think….

Decide.com says to go ahead and buy; it’s a good prize. On the LG and Panasonic, they advise waiting a few weeks.

So, here it is: Sony BDP-S580 Blu-ray Disc Player (Black)

What do you think? Did I find a good deal?

About Taminar

When I grow up, I want to make movies and write books. Now in my 50s, I wonder if I'll ever really accomplish the dreams of my youth. I have made two short films, one for a college film-making class, the other for an MTV-sponsored contest. I have written short plays that have been produced, and a few short stories and reviews that have been published. I also perform and direct for community theatre. My working life has included stints in local TV news, public relations, retail management and cashier, and for a couple of years, I made the rides go at Walt Disney World. I have three cats and a husband.
This entry was posted in Technology, Television and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

